First Citizens Bank Scholars Medal

The First Citizens Bank Scholars Medal recognizes outstanding scholarship, creativity and/or research among senior full-time faculty members.  Each year the University with support from First Citizens Bank presents this award in order to recognize and foster the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and creative endeavors. 

Nominations must focus on the excellence and importance of sustained contributions in research and creative activities, including work done over a substantial period of time at UNC Charlotte.  Relevant research and creative activities include scientific discoveries, books, a series of related articles, novels, sculptures, or paintings. 


The award - consisting of a cash prize, framed citation, and a medal - is presented annually at a ceremony and reception presided over by the Chancellor, other University officers, and officials of First Citizens Bank.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be made by any UNC Charlotte faculty member and should be sent electronically to Annette Parks at

Required nomination materials should consist of the following:

  1. Provide a letter of nomination from a UNC Charlotte Faculty member clearly specifying the scholarly or creative accomplishments at UNC Charlotte and the significance.
  2. Submit three letters from professionals outside of UNC Charlotte who are qualified to evaluate the work of the nominee and provide an authoritative view. Please include a brief biography (two-three sentences) on each of the outside letter writers.
  3. Include a brief biography (two-three sentences) on each of the outside letter writers.
  4. Include a current academic curriculum vitae for the nominee.
  5. Additional “Published works” (e.g. books, journal articles, etc.).

Nominations for the 2018 award are due no later than 5 p.m. on November 10, 2017.  Nominations may be made by any UNC Charlotte faculty member and should be submitted electronically to Annette Parks at arparks@uncc.eduAdditional "published works" (e.g., books, journal articles, etc.) may be physically dropped off to Annette Parks in the Graduate School, 210 Cato Hall.  Please direct any questions about the award to the Dean of the Graduate School, Dr. Tom Reynolds, at 7-7248 or


  • 2017:  Dr. Robert Algozzine, Educational Leadership
  • 2016:  Dr. John David Smith, History
  • 2015:  Dr. William Ribarsky, Computer Science
  • 2014:  Dr. Craig Ogle, Chemistry
  • 2013:  Dr. Lawrence Calhoun and Dr. Richard Tedeschi, Psychology
  • 2012:  Dr. Jonathan Marks, Anthropology
  • 2011:  Dr. Roslyn A. Mickelson, Sociology
  • 2010:  Dr. Lyman L. Johnson, History
  • 2009:  Dr. Diane M. Browder, Special Education and Child Development
  • 2008:  Dr. Bruce A. Arrigo, Criminal Justice and Criminology
  • 2007:  Dr. Kenneth Bost, Biology
  • 2006:  Dr. Tanure Ojaide, Africana Studies
  • 2005:  Dr. Mark G. Clemens, Biology
  • 2004:  Dr. David T. Test, Special Education and Child Development
  • 2003:  Dr. Murray A. Webster, Jr., Sociology and Anthropology
  • 2002:  Dr. Rafic Z. Makki, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2001:  Dr. Martha A. Strawn, Art
  • 2000:  Dr. Robert J. Hocken, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
  • 1999:  Dr. Donna R. Gabaccia, History
  • 1998:  Dr. Daniel L. Shealy, English
  • 1997:  Dr. Owen J. Furuseth, Geography and Earth Sciences
  • 1996:  Dr. Zbigniew Michalewicz, Computer Science
  • 1995:  Dr. Farid M. Tranjan, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1994:  Dr. Saul Brenner, Political Science
  • 1993:  Dr. Thomas L. Reynolds, Biology
  • 1992:  Dr. Gerald F. Pyle, Geography and Earth Sciences
  • 1991:  Dr. Judith D. Suther, Foreign Languages, and Dr. K. David Patterson, History
  • 1990:  Dr. Bryan E. Robinson, Human Services
  • 1989:  Dr. David R. Goldfield, History, and Dr. James D. Oliver, Biology
  • 1988:  Dr. Paul D. Escott, History, and Dr. D. Paul Rillema, Chemistry